Wales Final Festival of One-Act Plays

Throughout the earlier part of the year amateur groups from all over Wales have been competing to be one of the six highest scoring plays which will now compete over Friday and Saturday night for the right to represent Wales at the British Final Festival of One-Act Plays in July.

Rules for the Festival can be found here (PDF 222KB) 


Wales Final Festival of One-Act Plays 2017

Wales Final Festival of One-Act Plays 2017

This years' festival will be held at The Hafren - located in the centre of Wales, just off the A470 North-South road, with a large car park immediately adjacent and well signposted through Newtown, the theatre is easily and speedily accessible from all parts of Wales and the English Midlands and North West.  The Adjudicator will be Ian Sarginson GoDA.

There will be a Hog Roast buffet on the Saturday night, tickets are available from  Book Now - Ticket Source

Theatre Tickets are available from or telephone 01686 614555 The Hafren, Llanidloes Road, Newtown SY16 4HU









Elephant & Castle, Telephone: 01686 626271, email: or


The Adjudicator


Ian Sarginson GoDAIan Sarginson GoDA

Ian is a Yorkshireman,  originating from Sheffield where, recently, a particularly enjoyable experience was that of being invited to adjudicate his own home town festival.   Ian has since become an established resident of Wales, where his life, both personal and professional, is now firmly rooted.

His adjudication experience extends across all areas of the UK and at all levels of competition.  He is especially pleased to have been invited to adjudicate this year’s Wales Final Festival, an appointment which he last fulfilled in 2011.  In previous years he has twice been the adjudicator for the Wales Regional Area Rounds. He also officiated at the 2012 British Final which was hosted by the Drama Association of Wales in Milford Haven.

Ian is currently a member of the Governing Council of the Guild of Drama Adjudicators.  His current professional role is that of Senior Moderator for GCSE Drama with one of the national examining bodies.



  • Maynard Cup – Best Overall Production.
  • Elf Oil Trophy – Best Individual Performance, introduced at the 1995 Wales Final (hosted by Pembrokeshire Drama Assocition) by the festival sponsors Elf Oil UK Ltd.
  • Bernleigh Award – Best Presentation, introduced by Bernie & Leigh Smailes at the 2000 Wales Final.
  • Crawshay Cup – Best Original Script receiving its premiere in the regional rounds, introduced at the Wales Final in 1986. The Crawshay Cup competition exists to encourage the writing of new material for the stage and to encourage amateur groups to perform new work. It is awarded annually to an original one act play receiving its premier in the rounds of the United Kingdom Community Drama Festivals Federation – otherwise known as the regional one act festivals.
  • Bob McTurk Bursary – Awarded to the Most Promising Actor aged 18-25 in the regional rounds, introduced 2008. In memory of the late Bob McTurk, who was a former DAW Chair (1984-2004), the DAW Executive Committee elected to invest in the future of amateur theatre by creating a bursary for young people to attend DAW’s week-long Summer School.
  • Robert Fowler Unsung Hero Award – Awarded for backstage work, introduced in 2015 by DAW Trustee Sybil Fowler in memorium of her late husband.
  • DAW Lifetime Achievement Award – Awarded in honour of contribution to amateur theatre within their area. Here is a list of recipients (PDF 238KB)


Updated April 2017

Back to Top