The DAW Executive Committee

DAW has an Executive Committee which comprises a mixture of members elected by the wider membership and representatives of regional associations.  This current committee was installed at the AGM at Ystradgylais in July 2019.

The Executive Committee meets about 5 times a year. This committee is made up of volunteers, these are not paid positions.



Chair: Teri McCarthy Cardiff, South GlamorganChair: Teri McCarthy Cardiff, South Glamorgan

Teri has been an active member of Telstars Theatre Company since 1970 where she holds the position of Treasurer. Teri has been involved in all aspects of Amateur Theatre since joining Telstars. As Chair of Glamorgan Drama League, Teri has taken the League forward and was for many years Moderator for the Youth Section of their own “Glammies” and has been Festival Organiser of the One Act Festival since 2006.
Through her involvement in Amateur Theatre Teri has been involved with the DAW since Telstars joined in 1973. Teri served as an elected member of the Executive Committee from 2003-2009 and 2011-2013 serving as Vice-Chair from 2007-2009 and Glamorgan Area Rep from 2009-2011.   Contact:


Vice-Chair: Sue Jones GuilsfieldVice-Chair: Sue Jones Guilsfield

Sue has been acting since she was a Babe in the Wood at 6 years old. She qualified as an English and Drama teacher, and taught in London before moving to Wales.  She has been acting and directing with Guilsfield ADS since 1976, and now chairs the society and the MCDA region.  As well as Vice-Chair she is DAW's Summer School organiser.




Shirley Betts - Llansantffraid Glan Conwy, Clwyd / Conwy One Act Drama Festival

Shirley Betts Glan Conwy

Shirley is the secretary of Colwyn Abbey Players based in Colwyn Bay, Conwy who perform both dramatic and musical plays. She is also a founder member of the annual Conwy One Act drama festival. She works full time for a local accountancy running their payroll bureau.




Sue Buckley Llansantffraid Glan Conwy, ClwydNewsletter Editor: Sue Buckley Glan Conwy

Sue has been involved with acting for the past 18 years and has acted in various productions as diverse as a witch in Macbeth, Chris in Calendar Girls, Mrs Overall in Acorn Antiques the Musical and Gwen 'the only seagull in the village' in Cooing, her latest part was as Sue in Blink and You'll Miss Me. She is Chairman of Colwyn Abbey Players based in Colwyn Bay.  She is also the co founder of the annual Conwy One Act drama festival.  Sue works full time as the accounts manager for the family business.


Glamorgan Drama League: Anthony Evans

Anthony Evans Ystradgynlais, Swansea

Anthony has nearly 40 years experience in Community theatre having played his first senior role at the age of 16 with Cwmllynfell AOS. He has since performed with numerous companies in the Neath , Swansea and Llanelli Areas. He is a Life Member of The Glantawe Theatre Company having Written , Directed or Appeared in most of their productions since joining in 1987. Some of his favourite roles played include. Henry Higgins in My Fair Lady with The Academy, Emile in South Pacific with Clydach AOS and Tevye in Fiddler on the Roof with The Academy Group in Llanelli. He is currently working on his Third Play which he hopes to stage in 2017. Anthony has won National Recognition for both Acting and Directing by The National Eisteddfod of Wales having won the Best Director Award at the 1999 Llanelli Eisteddfod.


Gareth Gibbs Gelligaer

Hon President: Gareth Gibbs Gelligaer

Gareth has been a member of the Drama Association of Wales for 40+ years, during that time he has led his company The Players' Theatre, based in the Rhymney Valley to success in competitive theatre, having been British Champions on three occasions and as a result of consistent quality of performance been selected 4 times to represent not just Wales but the United Kingdom at World Festivals of Theatre, twice in Monaco, in Canada and in Korea.

They have acted 12 times in the United States and also in Ireland as well as having acted in over 80 towns and cities with the UK. Gareth was chosen to be the First recipient of the Angela Tidswell Memorial Trophy for services to theatre in Wales, given to him by the Drama Association of Wales during the Wales Final Festival at the Congress Theatre in Cwmbran in 2012.

Jonathan Hughes Conwy

Information to follow.


Geoff Lake Pencoed

Geoff Lake Pencoed

Geoff was first involved in drama at 14 yrs old. He joined Cardiff Players in 1964 where he met his wife Barbara. He and Barbara founded Llantrisant Drama and also Llantrisant Youth Festival and were instrumental in the revival of The Glamorgan Drama League of which he is now its President. Geoff also founded The Clover Theater in Florida which is still very active. Rejoining Cardiff Players some 15 years ago he is currently the groups Chair. Geoff became actively involved in DAW in 2010 and as Vice-Chair was responsible for the transfer of the DAW Library to the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama.


Richard Williams Cwmbran, Gwent Photo by James Ellis

Richard Williams Cwmbran, Gwent Photo by James Ellis

I have been involved with Amateur Theatre for as many years to mention exactly.

Directed, Stage Managed and performed in many One Act and full length plays, Musicals and pantomimes, making my debut as back end of the horse in Goody Two Shoes a long time ago.

Have been an Executive member or regional representative  of the board of the DAW for the last 30 plus years and still enjoy the buzz of live theatre. 


Co-opted Trustee: John HughesCo-opted Trustee: John Hughes Photo by James Ellis







Co-opted Trustee: Leon Searle Cardiff Photo by James EllisCo-opted Trustee: Leon Searle Cardiff Photo by James Ellis

I have been invovled with DAW since July 1998, when I was employed as Member Services Assistant and backstage liasion for competing groups at both Wales and British Finals.

Since 2013 I have been part of the Executive Committee, supplying members with the Newsletter/mailouts and updates to the website.




Area Rep Trustees:

Anglesey Drama Festival: Position vacant

Clwyd Community Theatre Association: Richard Jones

Conwy Drama Association: Position vacant

Glamorgan Drama League: Sybil Fowler

Gwent Drama Association: Position vacant

Montgomeryshire Community Drama Association: Judith Marvin

Pembrokeshire Drama Association: Position vacant



The DAW offices are run on a daily basis by a team of volunteers:  more volunteers are always welcome.


Sir Anthony Hopkins CBE, Michael Sheen

Updated March 2023

Back to Top